Estoril Global Issues Distinguished Book Prize 2019

Shortlist of five books selected. Winner to be declared in February

Awarded in every edition of the Estoril Conferences, the Estoril Global Issues Distinguished Book Prize publicly recognizes the author of a submitted book that best deals with significant global issues, while seeking to provide both new analyses and new perspectives related to globalization and its inherent challenges, so as to help the world better understand its global relevant risks and collective action problems.

For this edition, a record number of 51 books were submitted for the consideration of our international jury, composed by representatives of our Academic Partners. Among the submissions were authors such as Anne Applebaum (with Red Famine, Penguin), Mary Robinson (with Climate Justice: Hope, Resilience, and the Fight for a Sustainable Future, Bloomsbury) or Sir Roger Scruton (with Where We Are, Bloomsbury).

From the five dozens of candidates, the jury selected the five books to be considered for the 2019 edition of the Estoril Global Issues Distinguished Book Prize:

Alexander Betts & Paul Collier with Refuge: Rethinking Refugee Policy in a Changing World, Oxford University Press

Branko Milanovic with Global Inequality – A New Approach for the Age of Globalization, Harvard University Press

Jamie Susskind, with Future Politics – Living Together in a World Transformed by Tech, Oxford University Press

Paul Collier with The Future of Capitalism – Facing the New Anxieties, Penguin Allen Lane

Steven Levitsky & Daniel Ziblatt with How Democracy Dies, Penguin Random House

The jury, chaired by POLITICOS’s Global Editor, Matthew Kaminski, will now review the book award shortlist and announce the winner by next February.

The prize consists of 15.000 Euros with the winner giving a keynote speech and receiving the Estoril Global Issues Distinguished Book Prize during the 6th edition of the Estoril Conferences.

Jury Members of the 2019 Estoril Global Issues Distinguished Book Prize:

Arie Kacowicz, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel
Dirk van Dierondonk, Erasmus University, Rotterdam School of Management, Netherlands
John Luiz, Georgetown University’s McDonough School, United States of America
José Tavares, Nova School of Business and Economics, Portugal
Matthew Kaminski, POLITICO Global Editor
Teresa Violante, Chair of the Estoril Conferences

Rules for Eligibility here.

Previous winners were:

2017 – The Euro and its Threat to the Future of Europe by Joseph Stiglitz
2015 – Political Order and Political Decay: From the Industrial Revolution to the Globalization of Democracy by Francis Fukuyama
2013 - Civilization - The West and the Rest by Niall Ferguson
2011 - The Idea of Human Rights by Charles Beitz
2009 - Creating a World without Poverty by Muhammad Yunus and The Bottom Billion by Paul Collier (ex-aqueo)